Meet the Governors

Current Membership

Rokesly Junior School benefits from a committed group of governors who can offer a wide range of skills and come from a wide variety of different backgrounds.  The governors and their areas of interest and responsibility are:

Bola Soneye-Thomas: Headteacher, Junior School

Bola joined Rokesly Junior School in January 2007. Coming from a background in which she has coordinated a number of subject areas, Bola’s deepest commitment is to inclusion in its broadest sense. Her vision is to develop further and extend opportunities within the school so that every child can develop the skills that bring real choices in life.

Nigel Leskin : Local Authority Governor (Chair of Governors)

Nigel brings 20 years of experience to the role of goveror, having first been elected as a parent governor and then serving as Chair for ten years. Nigel has served on all committees in both schools and is a Local Authority representative on the governing body.  He is an active member on the resources and curriculum committees. By profession, Nigel is a criminal and immigration lawyer.

Bilal Rawat: Parent governor (Vice Chair of Governors)

Bilal became a parent governor in November 2017 and is looking forward to the role and contributing to the work of the Governing Body at Rokesly. He has a daughter at Rokesly and is a barrister.

Kerree Ahern:  Co-opted Governor (Safeguarding governor)

Kerree was elected as a parent governor in 2006 and is the Vice Chair of Governors for the Junior school.  She also chairs the personnel committee, is a member of the finance, curriculum and communications committees and is the specialist SEN and child protection governor for both schools.  Her areas of special interest include raising achievement for all children and parental involvement.  Kerree has three children, all of whom attended Rokesly Juniors.  She previously worked in the NHS developing health strategies in public health departments.

Katy Derbyshire: Parent Governor and Chair of Curriculum Committee. 

Katy joined the governors in November 2020. She is a Clinical Scientist in Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics and works in the NHS. She has two children that attend Rokesly Junior School. 

Lorna Walker: Co-opted Member and Chair of Resources

Lorna became a member of the Junior School Governing Body in November 2017 having been a governor at the Infant School since July 2013. She has three children, two attending secondary school, and one primary school age. Starting her career as an accountant in the retail sector, Lorna has since retrained as a garden designer.

 Joanna Neilson: Staff Governor

Joanna has been working at Rokesly as a class teacher since September 2018. However she has been employed at the school since 2008, in her previous role as a teaching assistant. She has created the school garden which she continues to develop and believes that all children should have the opportunity to grow and eat their own  produce. She has worked with a number of children on a 1:1 basis and has also delivered intervention programmes. Prior to joining the staff at Rokesly Joanna was a director in a city recruitment consultancy. She has two children both of which have attended the school.

Karen Peacock: Parent Governor

Karen has two daughters, one in the infants and one in the juniors, and has been a governor since January 2019.  A Chartered Accountant by training, Karen now works in a governance role in an International Bank.

Matt Butler:  Parent Governor

Matt has a daughter and son at the school and his been a governor since November 2020.  Matt is an economist with 20 years of experience delivering aid programmes in Asia, the Middle East and Africa.

Contact Us

Feel to free contact our friendly office team with any enquiries you may have.

Phone: 020 8348 0290

Address: Rokesly Avenue, London, N8 8NH

Follow us on Instagram and Twitter @rokeslyjunior

Image result for twitter logo for website